Das Orchester

What’s fantastic about having this internship and basically living on campus is that I can still be involved in Lehigh activities.  For instance, the Lehigh Philharmonic Orchestra had a concerto concert this February where ambitious student musicians played orchestra-accompanied solo pieces.  Here are me and my fellow flute players, who, along with the rest of the orchestra, accompanied the prodigies that performed:

Orchy

I will absolutely miss orchestra when I go abroad.  Even though three hours a week is a heavy commitment, it is worth being able to rehearse amongst the violins and violas in Baker Hall.

Having not been in an orchestra until coming to Lehigh, I remember when I first heard everyone warming up on stage.  Not only was I ecstatic about making the cut, I was super intimidated because of how amazing everybody sounded.  But above all of these feelings, I felt so relieved that I was going to be a part of a musical organization for another four years of my life.  Playing in orchestra is the ultimate stress reliever (as long as you practice so you’re good enough to not be stressed during rehearsal) because the music kind of envelopes you like a giant supportive and comforting cloud.  I’ve definitely gained some insight into the world of classical music over these past three years too, in addition to learning from my uber talented peers.  This past fall, we played Symphony No. 7 by Shostakovich, which was basically the music-form diary of his survival in war-stricken Leningrad during WWII.  It’s really amazing learning the history of the composers whose pieces we play, because it gives you that much more attachment to the piece.

Hopefully in Freiburg, Germany during study abroad, even though I won’t be in an orchestra, I’ll still be able to play my flute!  I have this horrifying image of a native German rapping on my door, pointing to my flute, and sternly saying, “nein!”  So, we’ll see if I have the guts to try playing or not!

About ludevon16

I am a Lehigh University IDEAS Environmental Engineering student focusing on a mix of biology, chemistry, environmental science, and sustainability. This summer I am participating in the Low-Energy Sustainable Farming Mountaintop Project at Lehigh, after coming back from a semester abroad in Freiburg, Germany. The previous summer I participated in an REU at Cal Poly researching phytoremediation. I am passionate about environmental remediation and want to pursue a career in the field after (fingers crossed) going to grad school. I am a flautist in the LU Philharmonic Orchestra, a student tutor for orgo, a member of LU's Finest step dancing team, and an inmate tutor for the Lehigh Prison Project. I like to rock climb, run, read, and play ukulele! View all posts by ludevon16

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

