From Lehigh to Harrisburg

View of the Lehigh Valley on my way to work @ Synergy.

View of the Lehigh Valley on my way to work @ Synergy.

My winter as a Lehigh student has been out of the ordinary compared to most.  Since my study abroad program starts at the end of February, I have an awkward two-month gap period where I am not in Lehigh classes and not yet studying in Freiburg, Germany (this is my abroad destination, scroll down to learn more about the awesome opportunity I have to go!). In this gap of time, since I don’t have to worry about school, I’m interning at Synergy Environmental Inc., an environmental engineering consulting company.

Interning here has exposed me to so much knowledge and understanding, not only in the technical realm, but in the world of business.  I will post more about those details in the days to come.  What I want to highlight today is my experience in Harrisburg at the Environmental Justice Advisory Board (EJAB) meeting.  My boss is on the board as an environmental engineer representative and joined by environmental lawyers, professors, industry representatives, environmental justice (EJ) community representatives, and members of the DEP.

IMG_4697

View of Harrisburg from DEP office.

The discussions that took place during this EJAB meeting revolved around EJ zones, established by the DEP, that need attention.  It was interesting witnessing the analysis of real-life ethical and environmental issues taking place in PA, like in Chester.  The fact that there are people worrying about problems like poor air quality in impoverished areas gives me hope for humanity.  I will say, however, that every member of the board is a member for a reason.  The reasons range from the more respectable, like having a keen interest in promoting ethical environmental practices, to the less respectable, like making the not quite eco-friendly company he/she represents look good.

IMG_4707

Behind me are past secretaries of the DEP.

A highlight of this adventure was that I got to meet the new secretary of the PA DEP, John Quigley.

Check back soon if you want to read more about my internship and soon-to-come adventures in Deutschland!

 

About ludevon16

I am a Lehigh University IDEAS Environmental Engineering student focusing on a mix of biology, chemistry, environmental science, and sustainability. This summer I am participating in the Low-Energy Sustainable Farming Mountaintop Project at Lehigh, after coming back from a semester abroad in Freiburg, Germany. The previous summer I participated in an REU at Cal Poly researching phytoremediation. I am passionate about environmental remediation and want to pursue a career in the field after (fingers crossed) going to grad school. I am a flautist in the LU Philharmonic Orchestra, a student tutor for orgo, a member of LU's Finest step dancing team, and an inmate tutor for the Lehigh Prison Project. I like to rock climb, run, read, and play ukulele! View all posts by ludevon16

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

