I Made It Home

How ironic is it that less than 24 hours after taking off from the San Francisco airport to journey home to Delaware County, PA, the Bay Area was shaken by the biggest earthquake since 1989? I loved living in California but man, I feel so much safer in Pennsylvania where earthquakes, tarantulas, and mountain lions aren’t a worry.  Now, my worries revolve around figuring out how to use Matlab for my engineering statistics class…

Aside from that pain, the start of the semester has been great.  The courses I am taking are Environmental Engineering Processes, Environmental Case Studies, CEE Soil Mechanics, CEE Fluids, and CEE statistics.  Environmental Engineering Processes is really interesting because it’s all about modeling the behavior of environmental contaminants.  Since I spent the summer working with contaminated soil, it will be nice to know on a more microscopic and mathematical basis what’s going on in there.  In the course thus far, we’ve learned laws regarding saturation, sorption, and translocation of these molecules.

Another cool class is Environmental Case Studies, which is actually a writing-intensive course.  In this class we read about controversial environmental  topics and then have (sometimes heated) class discussions regarding our positions. Each of us had to write a paper on environmental racism in Chester, Pa, which is pretty interesting and sad since I live 10 minutes from there.

Although classes keep me busy, I still make it a priority to enjoy myself.  For instance, today my friend and I woke up at 6am and hiked up to mountaintop to see the lunar eclipse.  Unfortunately, we’re slow walkers and we missed it…but the view of early fall from Iacocca was worth the exhaustion I’m going to feel later!

About ludevon16

I am a Lehigh University IDEAS Environmental Engineering student focusing on a mix of biology, chemistry, environmental science, and sustainability. This summer I am participating in the Low-Energy Sustainable Farming Mountaintop Project at Lehigh, after coming back from a semester abroad in Freiburg, Germany. The previous summer I participated in an REU at Cal Poly researching phytoremediation. I am passionate about environmental remediation and want to pursue a career in the field after (fingers crossed) going to grad school. I am a flautist in the LU Philharmonic Orchestra, a student tutor for orgo, a member of LU's Finest step dancing team, and an inmate tutor for the Lehigh Prison Project. I like to rock climb, run, read, and play ukulele! View all posts by ludevon16

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

