Horizons End

I have greatly enjoyed my time here in Abu Dhabi. There are definitely many new buildings and opportunities arising out of this desert, changing and creating new horizons. It is amazing how much the cities of Dubai and Abu Dhabi have grown in just a few decades of time. From small desert outposts to growing international communities. There are people working and living in Abu Dhabi from every known corner of the world. It has been wonderful to spend time learning from and talking to people from other places and other cultures. As much as I have enjoyed seeing and learning about the architecture and structures in the UAE, it is the people I met here that I will miss the most.

Kalifa Port End

Although figuratively for me since, it is also nearing the end of my trip here to the UAE. This is the end of Abu Dhabi Island. Literally, these rocks prevent the sand from eroding away at the end of the Khalifa Port. They also provide a beautiful view for sitting down and looking out at the Arabian Gulf.

As it is with most journeys then end of one, is also the beginning of another. There will be more horizons waiting back in the USA.

About luelaine15

Hi, I’m Elaine. I am an undergraduate student at Lehigh University. I am studying Civil Engineering and Architecture through Lehigh’s Arts-Engineering program. This is a five year program through which I will graduate with two bachelors degrees. In addition to being a dual major here at Lehigh I have been a student-athlete in our NCAA Division I Women’s Rowing Team. I am involved in the Reformed University Fellowship. I am also a member of Lehigh’s chapters of the American Society of Civil Engineers, Society of Women Engineers, Chi Epsilon, and Tau Beta Pi. In semesters where my schedule has permitted, I have also been an Engineering Tour Guide for the P.C. Rossin College of Engineering. View all posts by luelaine15

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

