Burj Kalifa – Dubai, UAE

20140620_164548Honestly, I couldn’t call my civil engineering / architecture student visit to Dubai complete without visiting the top of the Burj Kalifa. At over 800 m tall the Burj Kalifa is currently the world’s tallest building with the highest outdoor observation deck located on its 124th floor. After the high speed elevator ride of 10 m/s I stepped out of the elevator to see nothing but sky through the giant panoramic windows. Stepping closer to the windows, I could see the city of Dubai far below me. Cars took on the scale of ants. All of the other tall buildings in the city looked like very well done architectural models. The tower itself rises in levels as it soars up to reach the sky. Held up by a buttressed core structural system. Check out the Burj Kalifa’s website with lots of cool information and facts about the building and its construction: http://www.burjkhalifa.ae/en/TheTower/TheTower.aspx20140620_181802

About luelaine15

Hi, I’m Elaine. I am an undergraduate student at Lehigh University. I am studying Civil Engineering and Architecture through Lehigh’s Arts-Engineering program. This is a five year program through which I will graduate with two bachelors degrees. In addition to being a dual major here at Lehigh I have been a student-athlete in our NCAA Division I Women’s Rowing Team. I am involved in the Reformed University Fellowship. I am also a member of Lehigh’s chapters of the American Society of Civil Engineers, Society of Women Engineers, Chi Epsilon, and Tau Beta Pi. In semesters where my schedule has permitted, I have also been an Engineering Tour Guide for the P.C. Rossin College of Engineering. View all posts by luelaine15

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

