Club Track Meet at UPenn

The Running Club opened the spring season with a relay meet at UPenn in Philadelphia.  We had eight guys drive down and race in three different relays, the 4x800m, distance medley relay (DMR), and 4x1600m.  It was a very rainy and cold day, not quite ideal conditions for racing.  Despite the weather, everyone ran fairly well considering our limited training prior to it.  It wasn’t the greatest day for me though as I was carsick the entire ride down.  I ran the second leg of the 4x800m which placed 8th of 13.  It was a smooth race for me until the last half lap where I “hit the wall” and my hamstrings tightened up in the wet cold.  About ten minutes after finishing I threw up for the first time ever from running.  Even though I felt much better, I asked someone else to run the 400m leg of the DMR for me.  Our DMR team killed it and finished 4th of 12 behind Penn State, Princeton, and Rutgers.  I huddled underneath an umbrella trying to stay warm while taking splits for the DMR and 4x1600m.  Still, I really enjoyed the day and getting the chance to race.  The UPenn track (Franklin Field) is a historic arena where the Philadelphia Eagles used to play and where Olympic qualifying events are held.  I’ll be racing once more this semester here at Lehigh.

Image

About lukarl15

Hey! I'm Karl, a civil engineer in my senior year at Lehigh University. I am from the Buffalo/Western New York area and am the president of the American Society of Civil Engineers on campus. I am also on the Running Club team, practice electric and classical guitar, and study music theory on my own. I enjoy playing and watching sports with my friends in my free time (or the times when I probably should be studying). View all posts by lukarl15

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

