College Pranks

With not much going on this week, I was reminiscing on some fun things my friends and I have done over the past few years at Lehigh.  Be it Thursday, I decided to do a “throwback” post on some of the pranks we pulled during our freshmen year.  Pranking is one of the most inherent activities in college life and a great way to have fun and connect with hallmates, *as long as its not hurting anyone.  Years later, these memories still come up in conversation and provide comic relief to a normally stressful routine.

Here are some pictures from my freshmen year:

ImageImage

The first one was the classic toilet paper prank that we did when a hallmate left his door unlocked.  It took just 10 minutes to unravel a whole roll around his desk, bed, posters, and closet hangers.  The second prank shown was a lot more involved and not nearly as spontaneous.  I collected 100 empty gatorade bottles from friends for about a month and late one night, stacked them against another hallmate’s door.  I just wrapped a row of 10 bottles in masking tape and then taped those to the door frame.  In the morning, my friend opened his door to find a wall of plastic.

One prank my roommate pulled on a fellow hallmate took some engineering skill.  We were all taking Engineering 097, an intro programming and circuitry course for all freshmen engineers and had been working with an Arduino micro-controller.  My roommate put together a device that started slowly beeping when a light sensor picked up darkness.  The beeps would gradually get faster until a flat tone was reached, resembling a stereotypical bomb.  He placed it in our friend’s room who heard the beeping after turning off the lights to go to bed.

Another idea I had was to play around with my roommate’s desktop wallpaper.  In Windows you can set the wallpaper to be a slideshow of photos from a folder.  I made a folder on a flashdrive with around 80 identical pictures of his background and the last one being some embarrassing picture of himself.  When he went to the bathroom one day late in the spring semester I saved the folder as hidden and changed his background to a slideshow of the folder with the pictures changing every 24 hours.  Some day in the middle of the summer he opened his computer to see that picture, only I was 400 miles away.

Eventually, pranks like this catch up to you and you begin to expect some retaliation.  Sure enough, I came back to my room late one night to find my mattress was gone.  My friends had moved it to one of their rooms at the opposite end of the hall.

About lukarl15

Hey! I'm Karl, a civil engineer in my senior year at Lehigh University. I am from the Buffalo/Western New York area and am the president of the American Society of Civil Engineers on campus. I am also on the Running Club team, practice electric and classical guitar, and study music theory on my own. I enjoy playing and watching sports with my friends in my free time (or the times when I probably should be studying). View all posts by lukarl15

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

