Progression in Capstone

Progression in Capstone

This semester, I am part of the Capstone project class, where all civil engineering seniors are assigned to a group project pertaining to the design of a building. As Sam mentioned in his “sub-disciplines” blog, each student in the group is assigned a sub-discipline to design for: Structural, Geotechnical, Sustainability/”Green” Design, and Construction Management. I am in a group of five students and I have been assigned the geotechnical work. I may have mentioned in a previous blog that my project is located in San Francisco, California…aka seismic area.. aka this is the biggest design consideration (yikes).

We have had a bit of a setback in productivity with all of these snow day, but our 40% project submission is quickly approaching, so I started to get a big chunk of the work done this week. I have been given a geotechnical packet with soil classification for the site (which makes things easier), and I have found some issues such as: loose soil, wet soil, and very granular/sandy soil. I have been fortunate to take classes with Professor Pamukcu and Suleiman, so I am able to draw practical conclusions from the samples and plan for excavation and foundation design. The biggest concern I have (along with many other students) is my lack of experience in design…and by “lack of experience” I mean, I’ve never design the geotechnical & foundation work for an entire building (which is very scary). I am not really sure how to estimate construction techniques for a seismic area, but I know that a building needs to have a safe foundation to endure an earthquake…so much more research needs to be done about this.

The best part about this project, and the part that alleviates the stress, is that I have a great group who is committed to the project, but also looks out for and supports each other. I’m lucky enough to being graduating with a great group of CivEs, so stressful projects don’t seem like “hard work”; they are enjoyable and exciting.

About lusamantha14

I am currently a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a Bachelor's degree in Civil Engineering. My blog this semester will be about my last undergraduate year at Lehigh: academics, social events & unexpected day to day occurrences. I'm really excited to share my thoughts, stories, and advice with anyone reading, since I know that all students go through very similar experiences. I can't wait to explore all of the opportunities that the field of Civil Engineering has to offer & I'm excited to live out my last year at Lehigh to the fullest! View all posts by lusamantha14

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

