Hello all!

Hi everyone!

My name is Sam Hau and I’m the newest blogger to the Civil and Environmental Engineering page! I am very excited to be a part of this blog! Before going any further, I would like to say a little bit about myself…

I’m a sophomore civil engineering student looking to obtain minors in Computer Science, Sustainable Development, and Asian Studies. I am also involved with the Global Citizenship Program.

Image

It is places like this that absolutely fascinate me!

I chose civil engineering because I was always inspired by the works of great engineers throughout history. These engineers produced legends. The majestic look of the Great Pyramids of Giza, the formidable Great Wall of China, and other “Great” buildings throughout history were all master pieces of civil engineers. In other words, I want to contribute to building something that will outlast me.

Sebara_Dildiy_Bridge

I’m more interested in the field of sustainable development nowadays.

However, it is very evident that I will not be the chief engineer of the next world wonder. Today, while I am still devoted to contribute to building something that will outlast me; I’m more passionate about making the world a better place. For the past few semesters, I have been involved with the Sustainable Development department at Lehigh. I have been designing business models for Haitians, designing educational modulus for Kenyans, and I am currently working on a grant to study refugee camps. I am also involved with Bridges to Prosperity; an organization where engineers build bridges in developing countries to provide locals with the capacity to empower themselves.

images

I will be making videos of facilities such as ATLASS!

In the near future, I hope to bring all of you great content on this blog. I have dozen of ideas ranging from detailed study of buildings and facilities on campus, interviewing notable faculty, to everyday student life. I will also be bringing something new to the blog: videos! As a worker at the Digital Media Studio, I’ve only started video making a few years ago, however, I will do my best to make this blog as interesting as possible!

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

