Applying for Summer Internships

This coming summer could very well be my last before entering the real world workforce, unless I go on to graduate school to earn a Masters degree.  Either way, it is absolutely vital for me to gain experience in the civil engineering field before graduating and an internship is the best way to get that.  I had applied for a Iacocca International Internship to Abu Dhabi fully funded by Lehigh last semester but unfortunately did not get accepted.  Now with my best opportunity gone, I have been searching for as many more as I can find.  I made several contacts at the career fair last semester for big companies in the New York, Philadelphia, Washington areas, but I would prefer to stay home in the Buffalo area so I can put whatever salary I receive towards tuition instead of rent, food etc.

I visited the career services center the other day so a professional could review my resume.  They helped me out a lot in highlighting important notes and even adding more to it.  So this weekend, with less schoolwork to do, I plan to focus on internship applications and such.  It’s not the most exciting but something you just have to do as a college upperclassman.

About lukarl15

Hey! I'm Karl, a civil engineer in my senior year at Lehigh University. I am from the Buffalo/Western New York area and am the president of the American Society of Civil Engineers on campus. I am also on the Running Club team, practice electric and classical guitar, and study music theory on my own. I enjoy playing and watching sports with my friends in my free time (or the times when I probably should be studying). View all posts by lukarl15

One response to “Applying for Summer Internships

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

