Less Work is More Enjoyable

During my first two years at Lehigh the spring semester was more demanding and difficult than the fall but this year is quite the opposite.  After being flooded with lab reports and structures homework last semester, I keep expecting the same from my six CEE classes.  However, only two of them (steel and concrete design) give assignments for each class while the others each give an assignment once a week or less.  With all the time I have during the week, I’ve become much more relaxed about the semester and have been enjoying some extracurriculars.  When classes were cancelled Tuesday afternoon, six of us drove up to Camelback again to hit the slopes, something I would not have been able to do with last semester’s workload.  The running club has been meeting despite the cold and I’m finally beginning to train again since falling apart in November.  While I’m in terrible shape at the moment, I’m hoping to build up enough training to compete in a few track races the coming spring.  I’m also busy with the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) as I am the vice president of the student chapter.  We have been drafting ideas for service projects and on-campus activities as well as putting together an annual report for the national society explaining our involvement.  Also, our executive board will be traveling to Indianapolis for a regional conference in a couple weeks.  So with everything going on in ASCE, I’ll have plenty to share this coming semester!

About lukarl15

Hey! I'm Karl, a civil engineer in my senior year at Lehigh University. I am from the Buffalo/Western New York area and am the president of the American Society of Civil Engineers on campus. I am also on the Running Club team, practice electric and classical guitar, and study music theory on my own. I enjoy playing and watching sports with my friends in my free time (or the times when I probably should be studying). View all posts by lukarl15

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

