Getting Back in the Groove

This is the start of the second week of my last semester at Lehigh and so much has happened since this past December! Finals week was actually the smoothest week I have ever had, regardless of the 18 credit semester of Civil Engineering classes. I received my best GPA yet, which was a huge shock for me!! By senior year I’ve finally figured it out 😉

After the Christmas holidays, on New Years Day to be exact, I traveled to Munich, Germany for a short study abroad program. The flight was surprisingly quick (less than 7 hours!) and my friend, Erinn, and I stayed at a hotel in the center of Munich for the first night. After the first day/night, we met up with the rest of the Lehigh group and began our 10 day trip through Germany. The 10 days I spent in Germany were probably the best days of my life, and I am so happy I signed up to study abroad. Following this paragraph is the link to our website, which includes our daily blogs. On the right side of the page, there is a link titled “2014 Journal” and underneath are the days that have individual entries of what we did. If you’re curious about studying abroad, definitely look at this site! https://sites.google.com/a/lehigh.edu/munich/

DSC02652
DSC02615

The day I returned from Germany was the day I had to travel to Lehigh, so I had to make major adjusting to time zone differences. Classes started up peacefully as my schedule is rather light – my big class this semester is my Capstone Design Project. I will definitely post more about this project, since it is a semester-long project (right now we are just in the beginning stages). My other classes are required electives from the College of Arts & Sciences, and I am so pleased at the classes I picked.

This past week was also exciting because I received news that I have a job, a real life job! I will be working in the Planning and Research department with the Philadelphia Water Department (PWD). Over the winter break, I interviewed with several units for the PWD and I received word that I had been considered for a position in either the Design unit or the Planning and Research unit! I chose the Planning and Research because the unit works with all aspects of PWD: Water Resources, Design (and Construction), Cost and Operations. This will ultimately prepare me greatly when I take my Professional Engineer (PE) exam in a few years. In addition, I get to work in center city Philadelphia and live at home, in my favorite city.

I will have more pictures and stories to come as this semester progresses, and I apologize because this was an extremely big blog post and I hope I didn’t bore too many readers!

About lusamantha14

I am currently a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a Bachelor's degree in Civil Engineering. My blog this semester will be about my last undergraduate year at Lehigh: academics, social events & unexpected day to day occurrences. I'm really excited to share my thoughts, stories, and advice with anyone reading, since I know that all students go through very similar experiences. I can't wait to explore all of the opportunities that the field of Civil Engineering has to offer & I'm excited to live out my last year at Lehigh to the fullest! View all posts by lusamantha14

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

