Check Out My Flow

Last Friday, I had my first lab for Hydraulics. There is a pipe system in Fritz which is pictured below. We were given a diagram of it with the dimensions and pipe diameters. The water sits in a tank at the top, flows through the system, and exits at the bottom. The goal of the lab was to determine the flow rate through the system. To do that, we needed to determine the velocity through the pipes, the loss due to friction, and the minor losses (energy lost when the water travels though a bend or valve, the pipes contract or expand, etc). We had to make a few assumptions since we didn’t know everything about the system that we needed to, like the roughness of the inside of the pipe, which affects the friction loss. I have no idea what the flow rate actually is, but I guess we’ll see if the number I got was close when I get the lab back! Sorry the pictures are so dark, but the yellow pipes are part of the pipe system we had to analyze.

photo 3
photo 4photo 2

About lukatie15

Hi! I'm Katie. I am a junior here at Lehigh and I am double majoring in Civil Engineering and Architecture. This Arts-Engineering program is a five year program where I will graduate with two degrees. I am from Quakertown, Pennsylvania, and I am one of the few commuting students at Lehigh. Despite of this, I am the Vice President of the Steel Bridge Team, and I played club rugby. Additionally, I do kickboxing and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu at a local martial arts gym. If you have any questions about anything at all, please don't hesitate to ask! View all posts by lukatie15

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

