Throwback Thursday: CEE 010

Sitting in the Gibson computer lab in Fritz Lab, home to the civil engineering department, I noticed the posters from my class’ final architecture design project off to the side.  I took the introductory AutoCAD course, CEE 010, the fall of my sophomore year and really enjoyed the design aspect of it.  Our final project, which made up nearly half the class time, was to design an addition to the University Center on campus.  It was challenging to meet all of the requirements with such limited space around the existing building.  I remember my group spending over 20 hours in the computer lab finishing up the 3D model and another 6-7 organizing the poster and presentation the final weekend before it was due.  I was very happy with our completed project and my group received an A so it was cool to see and be reminded of it again over a year later.

IMG_3102

3Dmodel

images

The last picture is the current UC, the east side where the addition was to be designed.  The university is actually planning on undergoing this project in a few years.  They just began construction work renovating Williams Hall, an unused building on campus, this semester, which was the final project for the CEE 010 class before mine.  The class project this fall was remodeling the buildings on mountaintop campus, which Lehigh purchased recently.  I think it is great the university is going through so much change and growth and that they allow the students to be a part of the process.

About lukarl15

Hey! I'm Karl, a civil engineer in my senior year at Lehigh University. I am from the Buffalo/Western New York area and am the president of the American Society of Civil Engineers on campus. I am also on the Running Club team, practice electric and classical guitar, and study music theory on my own. I enjoy playing and watching sports with my friends in my free time (or the times when I probably should be studying). View all posts by lukarl15

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

