ASCE Career Fair or Turkey Trot?

Tomorrow evening, Lafayette is holding a career fair for strictly civil and environmental engineering companies.  This occurs every fall with the location alternating between Lehigh and Lafayette.  As part of ASCE, I helped organize a bus to transport any students that are interested in going to the career fair; Lafayette is only 20-25 minutes away.  As a junior, it is essential for me to go and put my name out there to the 32 high-end companies.  Not only does it help for getting an internship this coming summer but it also opens up job opportunities for when I graduate.

The only problem I have with it is that it’s at the same time as the Turkey Trot which is a tradition here on campus.  I have run in it both of my previous years and it’s always a race I look forward to because of how different it is.  The course follows the winding road through campus up the mountain.  By the time you get to the top (about 1.1 miles in) you have already climbed over 350 ft.  But then it’s a full downhill sprint from there to the finish on the front lawn in the middle of campus.  The race is only 2.4 miles and they hand out shirts to the finishers and other prizes to the winners.

I have to make a decision on what to do tomorrow.  My ideal choice would be to do both, and if I can find someone that is driving themselves to the career fair a little later, I could run and quickly catch a ride with them.  But if that’s not a possibility, I really should miss the race and ride the bus.  For me, this is one of the most difficult things to do; I hate shying away from any kind of competition or activity.  I’ve always lived believing things will fall into place on their own if you just do the things you enjoy.  But that reasoning has its limits and after I called my mom to try to get an excuse to not go to the career fair, I really don’t have much of a choice.

About lukarl15

Hey! I'm Karl, a civil engineer in my senior year at Lehigh University. I am from the Buffalo/Western New York area and am the president of the American Society of Civil Engineers on campus. I am also on the Running Club team, practice electric and classical guitar, and study music theory on my own. I enjoy playing and watching sports with my friends in my free time (or the times when I probably should be studying). View all posts by lukarl15

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

