Le-Laf Week

The week before the annual Lehigh-Lafayette football game is by far the craziest of the year.  With so much going on around campus, it’s easy to lose focus on schoolwork and unfortunately there always happens to be an exam that falls on this week.  For me, it is Fluid Mechanics which is scheduled for Tuesday, tomorrow.  I was planning to study just tonight, but I’m not sure if I’ll be able to finish my structures homework early enough.  I’ll admit that I wasn’t productive at all over the weekend; on Saturday I traveled to Hershey, PA for the national running club cross country meet (there were schools like Illinois, Minnesota, and Oregon there plus we stopped at Chocolate World afterwards!) though I didn’t race, and I relaxed and watched football all Sunday.

So now I am backed up with work to get done in the midst of the most involved time of the year.  Luckily I am not worried about my Fluids exam, I have a recitation later today that will clarify all the material.  Not skipping class ever also helps save a lot of studying since you are constantly becoming familiar with the concepts and don’t have to learn anything new right before the exam.  I find that for most engineering exams, the difference between doing well and not is a stupid mistake or two.  Usually everyone has a firm grasp on how to solve each problem, its just about limiting your mistakes.  I think that’s true for almost everything when you get up to a certain level; the sports team or chess player or investor that makes the least errors will come out on top nearly every time.  The trick for exams is to be confident with your knowledge and not allow any second-guessing.

About lukarl15

Hey! I'm Karl, a civil engineer in my senior year at Lehigh University. I am from the Buffalo/Western New York area and am the president of the American Society of Civil Engineers on campus. I am also on the Running Club team, practice electric and classical guitar, and study music theory on my own. I enjoy playing and watching sports with my friends in my free time (or the times when I probably should be studying). View all posts by lukarl15

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

