2014 Spring Schedule

It’s hard to believe that there are just four weeks of classes left in the semester and that I just typed out “2014.”  I registered for my classes the other morning, something that gets much easier and less stressful when you are not a underclassman fighting to get certain classes and schedules.  My schedule, as you can see below, isn’t the greatest but I had no other options since all of the classes have just one section.  You might notice that I will be taking 6 classes next semester, all within the CEE department.  This totals up to 17 credits, a pretty typical course-load though just one credit shy of the allowable maximum.

Image

CEE 117 – Numerical Methods is the only 2 credit class I’m taking (all the others are 3) and deals with different mathematical approaches to solving problems specific to civil engineering.  It branches off of MATH 205 which I took last spring.

CEE 202 – I know a few fellow students that took this planning and economics class as a sophomore and said it was fairly straightforward.  The concepts focus on business optimization and the financial aspects of a construction project.

CEE 222 – Hydraulics is the next step after taking Fluids this semester and will actually be with the same professor, Prof. Wiseman.

CEE 242 – Geotech is a continuation of the Soil Mechanics class I’m currently taking.  Despite not really being interested in the geotechnical (or hydraulic) tracks of civil engineering, this class (and 222) are required.  Yet it is a prerequisite for Foundations (244) which I might take my senior year to go along with structural classes.

CEE 262 – Steel Design is an absolutely necessary class to take if a CivE student wants to focus in structural engineering.  It will probably be the first class I’ll take that begins to focus on how buildings and bridges are actually made.

CEE 264 – You have the option to take either Steel Design or Concrete Design…or both as my adviser convinced me.  I was planning to take a 4 credit classics class to fulfill my HSS (Humanities/Social Science) “depth” requirement and avoid taking all CEE courses, while saving this class for next year.  After talking it over with my adviser, I realized that it would be better to save the easier classics class for senior year when I’ll be taking 300 level engineering classes.

About lukarl15

Hey! I'm Karl, a civil engineer in my senior year at Lehigh University. I am from the Buffalo/Western New York area and am the president of the American Society of Civil Engineers on campus. I am also on the Running Club team, practice electric and classical guitar, and study music theory on my own. I enjoy playing and watching sports with my friends in my free time (or the times when I probably should be studying). View all posts by lukarl15

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

