Developing Relationships With Professors

As you get more into your major classes, you really have the opportunity to get to know your professors and they get to know you as well. I have a professor, Dr. Pakzad, who is really interested in his students. I have him for structural analysis this semester. Many of the students in the class happen to be is advisees, but he wanted to get to know everyone else as well, so he asked us to come up to his office and meet with him just to talk. So, of course, I did, and we literally just had a friendly conversation for about an hour. I really appreciated that he took time out of his day to talk to me (and others, I;m sure) and get to know me before we really got into the class.

He is always interested in what his students are doing outside of class and really wants them to succeed. His interest in our lives makes the class more personal because he’s not just standing up in front of the class talking at us for hours. He really wants to make sure we understand what’s going on because he genuinely cares about us.

Last weekend, I cut my finger pretty badly. To make a long story short, I was disassembling metal shelving units, and the metal sheet that was the backing ended up slicing my finger right down to the bone. I should have gone to the hospital to get stitches, but I didn’t haha. So when I walked into class on Tuesday, he saw the bandage and asked me what happened, so I told him. By Wednesday, it seemed to be healing up pretty nicely, so I decided to go to kickboxing. Bad idea. Even though I bandaged it up really well and made sure it was well padded etc, the cut completely reopened. When I got home, I bandaged it up again, this time making a splint to keep my finger from bending.

When I went to Structures on Thursday, Dr. Pakzad noticed that I now had my Popsicle stick splint and asked me about it. After I told him the story, he started joking around with me as he typically does. He told me I was crazy in the head for trying to go to kickboxing and kept telling me to go to the hospital and get stitches. It was really funny. I’m glad that I have a professor that I can joke around with and know on more than just an academic level.

By the way, I never did go to the hospital haha.

About lukatie15

Hi! I'm Katie. I am a junior here at Lehigh and I am double majoring in Civil Engineering and Architecture. This Arts-Engineering program is a five year program where I will graduate with two degrees. I am from Quakertown, Pennsylvania, and I am one of the few commuting students at Lehigh. Despite of this, I am the Vice President of the Steel Bridge Team, and I played club rugby. Additionally, I do kickboxing and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu at a local martial arts gym. If you have any questions about anything at all, please don't hesitate to ask! View all posts by lukatie15

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

