I Guess You Could Say I’m Kind of a Big Girl Now

As Samantha has mentioned in her posts, a couple weeks ago, Lehigh hosted a career fair for all students to go to and meet with companies interested in hiring Lehigh students for internships, co-ops, and jobs. Well, of course, I attended, and it was really a beneficial experience. Some of the companies really stood out to me, and I’d definitely be interested in interning with them over the summer.

ImageLast week, Turner Construction, one of the companies from the career fair, held an information session on campus for students to get to know more about them. They even brought pizza for all of us, which was much appreciated 🙂 I’m sure many of you know about the tallest building in the world, Burj Khalifa in Dubai. Turner was the construction company that managed the construction for that massive skyscraper. Pretty cool, right? In fact, Turner has done a lot of well known buildings throughout the world. All of the representatives that were there talking to us graduated for Lehigh, so we were really able to connect with them.

After attending the information session, my interest was certainly peaked, so I sent my resume in and applied for an interview, like many other students. Lehigh has a great resource for students called LUCIE, which is an internet hub for all things related to careers. We can look up jobs, see what kind of events Career Services is hosting, post a resume, etc. We used LUCIE to apply to Turner…very convenient.

I did land an interview, which I had this morning. I made sure I looked professional and all fancy. ImageThankfully, a few representatives came to Lehigh to interview us, so we didn’t have to go all the way down to Philadelphia, where their main office is. Each interview was about 30 minutes long, and they interviewed about 18 people I think. Good thing they had two groups conducting interviews. Overall, I think the interview went really well. I was able to answer all of the questions (first step to success), and I think I was able to answer everything in ways that showcased who I am as a person as well as a student. Even if I don’t get the job, just going through the interview itself was a great experience. I can’t wait to hear from them in about a month and a half!

About lukatie15

Hi! I'm Katie. I am a junior here at Lehigh and I am double majoring in Civil Engineering and Architecture. This Arts-Engineering program is a five year program where I will graduate with two degrees. I am from Quakertown, Pennsylvania, and I am one of the few commuting students at Lehigh. Despite of this, I am the Vice President of the Steel Bridge Team, and I played club rugby. Additionally, I do kickboxing and Brazilian Jiu Jitsu at a local martial arts gym. If you have any questions about anything at all, please don't hesitate to ask! View all posts by lukatie15

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

