Jumping into Senior Year

Jumping into Senior Year

Hello Readers! I have returned to the blogging world of civil engineering for my final year at Lehigh. The last four weeks at school have passed by extremely fast & now school work, social events & other responsibilities are starting to present themselves more rapidly šŸ˜‰

This week, I would like to give a little update on a few recent things that happened in my “Lehigh Life”. First, the 24th Annual Career Fair at Lehigh was held last week. This fair is basically a huge gathering of companies for all majors who come for the intention of recruiting Lehigh students of all ages for internships & full time offers. Each company is designated their own booth in Rauch Field House (on our athletic campus) and students come dressed in formal attire with their resumes in the hopes of gaining the opportunity for a career at a specific company.

It is, in my opinion, very wise for students to attend this fair starting from Freshman year simply because it gives exposure to talking with companies in a professional manner. As a senior, it can be very overwhelming to see all of these companies lined up & you can’t help but feel that this is your “only shot” to get a job offer. (This is NOT the case, but if you easily get nervous like me, you may feel this way.)

After talking with the company representatives (mostly construction groups and design firms for civil engineering) and giving them my resume, I was given their business cards to follow up or keep in touch. I went home & began to write thank you cards for each person who took the time to talk to me, since I know it was a very long day for them. That is what the picture includes above: my handwritten thank you cards mailed to the reps I talked to. This is another tip that I learned at the career fair: Companies like when you follow up & thank them, especially in a handwritten letter (you are NOT a creep if you do this.)

Overall, my experience at the Career fair went well! I like to think it is because I researched the companies who were going to be there and decided on a few companies that I’d be interested in. I also attended a Career Fair Workshop that Lehigh’s Career Services held, so that was a major confidence booster & helped me prepare for how I was going to talk to the companies & what I would talk about. If you are a student reading this – take advantage of opportunities to better yourself in the professional world! It really helps & you will feel better equipped for situations like Career Fairs or Interviews with companies.

About lusamantha14

I am currently a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a Bachelor's degree in Civil Engineering. My blog this semester will be about my last undergraduate year at Lehigh: academics, social events & unexpected day to day occurrences. I'm really excited to share my thoughts, stories, and advice with anyone reading, since I know that all students go through very similar experiences. I can't wait to explore all of the opportunities that the field of Civil Engineering has to offer & I'm excited to live out my last year at Lehigh to the fullest! View all posts by lusamantha14

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

