Professionalism in the Workplace

Professionalism in the Workplace

Today’s blog topic was brought about by a situation I witnessed yesterday between two co-workers. What started out as a discussion (unrelated to PWD work) quickly escalated into a heated debate. I was watching the two go back and forth, cut each other off, and make personal remarks – while they were standing in my office (awkward is an understatement). Luckily it was the end of the day for us so it ended (unsettled), but I was on my way home in no time.

Yesterday’s encounter definitely taught me how important it is to be professional in the working world. Last year I worked in a construction trailer, and I was lucky if I didn’t witness a verbal fight for one day. Seeing this yesterday showed me that these situations can occur in any workplace – whether it’s on a construction site or in an office. One of the most important skills that a person can develop (I feel) is to prevent these situations from happening to them by being professional at all times.

Constantly upholding a professional manner may be hard at times, but it definitely pays off in the long run. The key to avoiding these kinds of situations is to remember why you are at your company in the first place: to work. If your boss or coworker is irritating (whether it is work related or not), take a breath before responding. Keep in mind that you are there to do your job, and you have family and friends outside of work to help you through your frustrations. Your quality of work will inevitably decrease if you are aggravated and surrounded by negativity. Deep breathing and rising above other’s behavior will help you, not only as an employee, but as a person.

I’m very grateful to have learned these lessons, because I am developing skills to avoid these types of situations from happening to me. It was rather uncomfortable and distracting to watch yesterday, and I couldn’t help but think “Wow, I never want to look like this”. I hope that whoever is reading this can either relate or mentally prepare for some of these situations, and I thank anyone reading for their time and care! Keep calm & carry on 🙂

About lusamantha14

I am currently a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a Bachelor's degree in Civil Engineering. My blog this semester will be about my last undergraduate year at Lehigh: academics, social events & unexpected day to day occurrences. I'm really excited to share my thoughts, stories, and advice with anyone reading, since I know that all students go through very similar experiences. I can't wait to explore all of the opportunities that the field of Civil Engineering has to offer & I'm excited to live out my last year at Lehigh to the fullest! View all posts by lusamantha14

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

