Weekend Traveling and Back to Work

image

This is a picture from my weekend, on my way to visit my boyfriend Michael , a fellow Lehigh civil engineering student, in Long Island. He just returned from Lehigh’s Summer Study Abroad program in Vicena, Italy. This trip was open to all majors, but it was for credit in the architecture department. After seeing his pictures and hearing his stories, I highly recommend this trip (or any other study abroad trip that Lehigh offers)! He said it was a great experience and the group had a wonderful time with their professor for the month.

I was able to take Monday off from work, and then today it was back to the real world! The wastewater plant was relatively quiet today, as most of the employees were being trained on the operation of the Cryo Plant.

At PWD, we pump Pure Oxygen into the aeration tanks, as opposed to just mixing air with the wastewater. The training’s purpose was to inform employees of how the process to obtain pure oxygen works. On the plant’s land, there is a small cryogenic plant where this pure oxygen is formed. From what I heard today, it is a very complicated process that has to be learned and studied several times. In my next blog, I’ll include a picture of the Cryogenic Plant and try to describe the process as best as possible!

About lusamantha14

I am currently a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a Bachelor's degree in Civil Engineering. My blog this semester will be about my last undergraduate year at Lehigh: academics, social events & unexpected day to day occurrences. I'm really excited to share my thoughts, stories, and advice with anyone reading, since I know that all students go through very similar experiences. I can't wait to explore all of the opportunities that the field of Civil Engineering has to offer & I'm excited to live out my last year at Lehigh to the fullest! View all posts by lusamantha14

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

