Halfway Through the First Week!

I have just completed my third day as a PWD Engineering Intern, and I am thrilled to be working there so far. Yesterday, I was able to walk the wastewater treatment plant with the engineers and a group of Environmental Engineers/Scientists from New York and Philly! We started from the beginning of the plant and went until the end, so we were able to see the drastic improvement in the quality of the water. As I walked with them, I was able to learn a lot just by listening and watching the processes. One thing that stood out to me was that many of the people I was walking with were able to tell what was affecting the water by simply looking at the color of the foam or smelling the water. I hope to be able to gain enough experience to do that when I am fully in the working world. 

In addition to the scientific processes of this plant, I am able to develop communication skills and listen to the advice that my supervisors give. I was speaking to two engineers today about how a civil or environmental engineer does not (and can not) pin-point exactly what they are going to do when they graduate. This is both a comforting yet unsure feeling, because it shows me that the world is so broad and I can contribute to it in many different ways, but also that my plans future might very well be altered. I think that it is extremely important to have these kind of conversations with your co-workers as a student, because they are the people who have experience and can give you an idea of what to expect in the working world. I truly love that I am working here, and I also can’t wait for this upcoming three day weekend!

About lusamantha14

I am currently a senior at Lehigh University pursuing a Bachelor's degree in Civil Engineering. My blog this semester will be about my last undergraduate year at Lehigh: academics, social events & unexpected day to day occurrences. I'm really excited to share my thoughts, stories, and advice with anyone reading, since I know that all students go through very similar experiences. I can't wait to explore all of the opportunities that the field of Civil Engineering has to offer & I'm excited to live out my last year at Lehigh to the fullest! View all posts by lusamantha14

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

