A Civil Engineer’s Workload

Just three weeks into this spring semester and my work is piling on.  Taking a full 18 credits is beginning to come back to bite me.  I have been getting Strength of Materials, Dynamics, and Physics II homework twice a week along with Linear Methods and Environmental Engineering homework once a week.  Each assignment can take me anywhere from one to three hours, so that totals up to an average of about 16 hours of homework a week.  Trying to set aside at least two hours a night is proving to be more difficult than I thought and has forced me to step away from a few of my extracurricular activities.   Finding time to go up to Mountaintop Campus and help the Steel Bridge team weld has been impossible and saving enough energy for Running Club is challenging.  Also, while classes were just beginning for the semester, I rushed the Psi Upsilon fraternity where a couple of my friends live.  Despite getting a bid to join, I decided not to pledge because it would have been a huge commitment.  I figured losing half of my daily sleep and seeing my grades drop significantly over the course of six weeks of pledging was not worth it.  Now with the first round of midterm exams approaching all too quickly, I need to settle into my schedule and come up big under the pressure.  At Lehigh I’ve learned that a large workload is only as bad as you make it out to be; you’re only as busy as you think.  So hopefully, once I get into the swing of my schedule, everything will fall easily into place.

About lukarl15

Hey! I'm Karl, a civil engineer in my senior year at Lehigh University. I am from the Buffalo/Western New York area and am the president of the American Society of Civil Engineers on campus. I am also on the Running Club team, practice electric and classical guitar, and study music theory on my own. I enjoy playing and watching sports with my friends in my free time (or the times when I probably should be studying). View all posts by lukarl15

Leave a Reply

Mechanical Engineering

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Mechanical Engineers

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Civil and Environmental Engineers

The #LehighIDEAS Blog

Official blog of the Lehigh University IDEAS program

Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Official blog of the Lehigh University Chemical Engineers

Lehigh Bioengineering Blog

Official Blog of the Lehigh University Bioengineers

Lehigh Electrical/Computer Engineering and Comp Sci

The purpose of computing is insight, not numbers. -Richard Hamming

First-Year Lehigh Engineers

Life as a Lehigh Engineer from the perspective of first-year students

